Knockin’ up Some Gnocchi

I cannot believe how I coped for so long with our lack of decent cooking facilities. I’m starting to come out of the zombi zone and realise what I can start doing again. There was no way I would have contemplated making gnocchi in the old state of affairs. It worried me putting a big pot on the butane camping stove would end with an explosion. I could have done it on our heavy duty gas ring that I used for passata making etc, but really…..Well, worry no more! Tonight I made some potato gnocchi with a Napoli Style sauce. It was delicious. Gnocchi was light and fluffy and the sauce had a great depth to it as I’d let it simmer for a few hours. Shaping GnocchiFor the gnocchi I mixed together:

  • approx 1 kg Gippsland Gold potatoes that I’d baked in the oven. Peeled and put through the ricer (I turned the peels into baked chips by adding some oil and salt then returning to the oven to bake until crisp)
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 200g OO flour
  • nutmeg- about 2 teaspoons
  • Salt & pepper
  • Mixed herbs

All gently incorporated until it came together in a nice ball, not too sticky, not too wet, just right! I sectioned the dough and rolled each section into long strips about as thick as a pointer finger and then cut it into small pieces about 1.5-2cm long. I don’t have gnocchi rollers/boards and I find making the traditional line marks with a fork both time consuming and awkward for my dodgy hands, so I leave it plain. Once cut, I rested the pieces on a semolina floured board until ready to go in the pot.

For the sauce I put 1 chopped onion, 1 chopped carrot, 1 stick chopped celery, 2 bay leaves, 1 litre home made passata, parsley, S&P, a splosh of balsamic, a generous 1/2 cup of olive oil and about 700 mls water into a stock pot, bought to the boil with lid on then removed lid and let it simmer and reduce for a few hours. Lovely concentrated flavour and a silky feel as the oil had emulsified though the sauce. Served with some chopped parsley and parmesan shavings along with some fresh sourdough to mop up the excess juice.

Gnocchi with Napoli Suace

Ear Ear! Ere’s this weeks bread.

More practice with the new oven and I think I’m getting there. The oven is really hot and holds its temperature so well that I’ve needed to take that into account. This loaf is 20% rye at 70% hydration. Best colour I’ve had so far cooking in the new beast.

Rye sourdoughIt’s still raining here and it’s not likely to stop in the immediate future so I might get the chance to do some more training with the beast.

This entry was posted in Bread, sourdough, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Knockin’ up Some Gnocchi

  1. Francesca says:

    Your bread is looking very fine Maree. Nice combo. I need some inspiration to break away from my everyday bread. How about doing a post step by step on your 70% hydration rye loaf? The gnocchi look so tasty. At least you are close to a source of excellent potatoes. Here they are ordinary and cost an arm and a leg. Love the slow cooked Napoli too.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Welcome home! The bread is basically Chad Robertson’s basic loaf but I’ll look at doing a step by step. The gnocchi was delicious! One of those dishes you don’t order when eating out unless you know its done well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. EllaDee says:

    Between you and Francesca the G. O. & I will be dining well at very little cost. I bought the ricer with intentions of gnocchi but haven’t braved their mystique either. Had lovely gnocci at Margaret River’s Watershed Winery a few days ago, I always order it at good places. Making my own would be wonderful. Simple food done really well is sublime. I love what you did with the skins.

    Like

  3. Love your gnocchi – the no fuss method. I have never been able to get that ‘light’ touch that makes good gnocchi. Must try again. I agree with Francesca, your bread is, indeed, looking very fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. KJ says:

    Lovely gnocchi – I love handling gnocchi as the texture is very soft and soothing!

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    I do love gnocchi, but it must be good gnocchi. Yours looks spectacular! Agree with everyone else that your bread is looking mighty fine. Jealous of that colour! x

    Like

  6. Wow, that gnocchi looks amazing. As does the bread 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

