Our hard work is becoming evident.

We are at a major turning point in our exteno. My emotions are mixed, I love the new works but I also love the old, original parts of the house that add quirkiness and character (along with some interesting odours!) to the personality of it. I really believe we are marrying the best of both periods to the home. Keeping as much as we can to stay true to the character of the house, while, still being practical about what works with our long term plans.

I was quite emotional when now tonight,  I can really begin to see the efforts of all the hard work coming to fruition. I’m not talking about the exterior, that is different, I mean the space inside that will become the warm hub of the home where people meet, food is created and lessons are taught to others. Drinks and eats around the table, laughter and probably tears. This is what I greeted me when I came out from the makeshift kitchen (see below) and it moved me. The plaster is well under way which means the last of the old black, 3ply ceiling is about to be hidden. The chimney brickwork is looking beautiful and the hours of work on removing the paint from that are proving to be worth it.

IMG_0247It was after I had spent a few hours tonight making some mini quiches to take to work tomorrow for a morning tea that it struck me for the first time just how arduous its been actually getting anything cooked. I think I must have a bit of ‘just suck it up and get on with it mindset’.  It isn’t until I try and turn out bulk quantities of food that it really gets to me. Do you have any idea how long it takes to turn 1 packet of puff pastry into mini quiches when you can only cook 6 at a time? Bloody ages is the answer.

IMG_6682 Mini quiches

But you do get there. While the quiches were cooking I put together a few loaves of bread that I will bake at work.

There is the herb, chilli and feta cheese loaf which comprised 400g  40% rye sourdough gently pulled out and spread with freshly picked herbs, feta cheese, a little cheddar (left over from quiches), and some hot chilli flakes. I’ve rolled this into a batard shape and will prove overnight and bake tomorrow.

Herb, feta chilli sourdough loaf breadNext was the walnut, cranberry, sultana and apple loaf. Chopped some walnuts, spread out 400g white sourdough and spread, walnuts, cranberries and sultanas that I had soaked in a little juice to rehydrate over it. I then sprinkled, brown sugar, dutch cinnamon and a grated Granny Smith apple (ours) which I had squeezed the excess juice from  and spread over the nuts and fruit.

IMG_6695then rolled the dough into a bun/scroll shape. This will also be baked at work tomorrow.

IMG_6697It’s nights like these I get extremely excited about being able to cook in a much more relaxed and organised manner. It really is quite an effort continuing the way we have been. I know everyone has been telling that, I just chose to ignore it and make do.

The final tweaking of the kitchen layout is done! It may have resulted in me having a MAJOR panic attack but we got there. That gap on the left is the chimney space.

IMG_0242It really does look like I’ll fit a bit more than I thought into the space. Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Bread, Home, Renovation, sourdough, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Our hard work is becoming evident.

  1. Fairy says:

    I have eternal admiration for what you achieve. I think I would have given up long ago. However, I do understand what you mean about the emotion of seeing the last of the old………. I can’t wait to see the new kitchen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda says:

    I still can’t believe the food you have produced in that tiny oven. You most certainly have more endurance than me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am enjoying the progress reports and look forward to seeing the finished project. What you have done with that tiny oven is very impressive. We start our own demolition next week but not on our primary residence, which will be much easier.

    Like

  4. Francesca says:

    What a saint you are, doing all that stuff in the makeshift kitchen with the toy oven. No, not a saint, a crazy woman, but I can relate to that well. I wish I worked with you so I could eat that morning tea- they are a lucky bunch to have you there. Your new kitchen is looking lovely- the old chimney came up so well.
    Guess what I found on the hard rubbish at the beach? A toy oven, a Sunbeam Pizza Bake and Grill. This weekend it gets to make pizza by the sea. The door is a bit dodgy and may need a brick shoved against it to keep it closed but I am pretty excited. I’m taking a truck load of frozen dough down.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Oh how exciting! Hope it works ok. I found a great queen size bed at hard rubbish in Blairgowrie couple of years ago, complete with a brand new mattress. Gave it our friends for in their van annexe. Sadly we don’t have hard rubbish collections, I loved them. The bread was great and as you would know, teachers turn into seagulls in a staffroom. 🙂

      Like

  5. Jan says:

    I honestly don’t know how you have managed for so long in your make shift kitchen. Some of the food you have prepared in it has been amazing.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Thanks Jan, I think knowing a real kitchen is so close is why I’m getting frustrated. Many in the world with far less than I’m using cope well, I do appreciate that but….. . Cheers, Maree.

      Like

  6. Gretchen says:

    You still amaze me with what you are able to make in your makeshift kitchen and tiny oven!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ladyredspecs says:

    You deserve medal. I am close to tears some days in my maddeningly difficult kitchen, but I should be grateful that I have a fully functioning 600mm oven. The light is a big big bug bear! I hope you’re having a relaxing Easter

    Like

Leave a Reply

