Very Moorish with a Moroccanish twist.

We have just had the most beautiful weekend witnessing and partying hard (for some a tad too hard!) to celebrate the wedding of our niece and her partner at their marriage which was held at Chateau Yering in the Yarra Valley. What a great event this was. The bride’s father recently suffered a MAJOR stroke and his determination to be part of the wedding and to walk his beautiful daughter down the aisle was realised.  The effort and determination Jack has demonstrated in rehabilitating himself to be part of this day is nothing short of miraculous. Not a dry eye in the house as he accomplished his (and the family’s) goal. This link goes to an article that was in the Herald Sun last week.Jack & Bec HS

Was amazing indeed!

After the event, we had house guests stay who were very brave and happy to share our dust, rubble, lack of amenity and general mayhem while the reno is underway. I wanted to offer them a lovely meal before they returned home, so for dinner tonight I created a feast of Moroccan/Middle eastern dishes to share. This worked well with my compromised facilities and tasted sensational.

Planned ahead in the morning, so I was free & easy to enjoy their company throughout the day. The menu was:

  • Slow cooker Moroccan lamb
  • Roast Vegetables with sesame seed (cooked in the pizza oven)
  • Freekah, roast cherry tomatoes, roast capsicum salad
  • Green bean, pomegranate and walnut salad

I deboned a leg of lamb and worked from this recipe tweaking using stock, substituting it for a stubby of passata. I didn’t brown the meat first, just chucked it in the slow cooker on high for app 6 hours. Before serving the juices were removed and reduced to make a thicker sauce. Sensational!

Moroccan lamb slow cooker

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Very similar to pulled pork concept, but, I think tastier. At the last minute I whipped up some fresh tortillas to go with it.

The accompanying dishes were some I got inspiration for when I attended a class at Relish Mama’s vegetarian middle eastern session. the freekah salad is my new best favourite. I’m not posting the recipes, book a class, it’s worth it!

The accompanying dishes were:

Freekah, roast cherry tomato and roast capsicum salad. I love this, it is fresh, tasty and keeps really well too. Along the same lines as a tabouleh but much more substantial and the flavours much more intense.

Freaky with roast tomato and hazelnut salad

Then there was green bean, walnut and pomegranate salad. This also, was so delicious.

Bean pomegranate and walnut salad

I had started the day thinking I would do a good old lamb roast, precarious control of the pizza oven was not what I wanted to spend my time on or get stressed over so this changed to just roasting the veg in the pizza oven. Good decision, roast veg topped with sesame seed for serving brought the two together well.

Roast vegetables with sesame

Frequently I find I am too critical of my dishes, but I think this meal was a winner. Lots of fresh veg, beautiful flavours and some great people to share my efforts. What more can you want?

The groom is a top chef and instead of placing ‘tacky’ (my term) gifts on the tables for guests, there was to me, the most wonderful gift of sharing. Tiny little terracotta pots planted with oysterleaf plants so that guests could take them, nurture them and whenever they use them, think back and remember the most wonderful of wedding celebrations. Thanks Bec & Andy, what a fantastic time it was!

Oyster leaf plant.

I fell really wholesome after sharing this weekend with family who care, love, nurture and respect each other. Glad I stuck around to enjoy it all.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Very Moorish with a Moroccanish twist.

  1. Glenda says:

    HI Maree, Congratulations to the bride and her dad. Your meal looks great. Have you posted the freekah recipe? I am very interested. I am sure to have cherry tomatoes galore soon.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Hi Glenda, thanks for the congrats, I’ll pass it on. I’m always a little nervous about posting recipes that I got from doing a class. Just seems a little cheeky to me. I’ll scan and email the handout to you. Cheers, M.

      Like

  2. Lisa says:

    While the lamb isn’t for me, each and every one of those side dishes looks AMAZING!!!

    What a lovely wedding and I love the idea of the plant gift too. What a wonderful idea.

    Like

  3. Gretchen says:

    What a wonderful wedding story. Mother lamb dish also looks delicious. Even with no kitchen you manage to produce greatness.

    Like

  4. ramblingtart says:

    What a gorgeous and delicious feast!!

    Like

  5. EllaDee says:

    What a happy wedding story. Wonderful that you were part of it. What fortunate house guests… I’m already planning a similar menu… imitation is the sincerest form of flattery 🙂

    Like

  6. Francesca says:

    You’re amazing Maree- midst all that chaos, you produce a banquet fit for a Persain wedding. It all looks so delicious and colourful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

