Celia’s Pork Meatballs

Now that we are in the final countdown for the open garden weekend, I thought it would be good to have a couple of things at the ready to offer our helpers. I had taken a shoulder of pork out of the freezer on Wednesday with a plan to make some sausages for a BBQ but just ran out of time. As chance would have it I was reading through my blogging friend Celia’s blog and found she had a recipe posted that was taken from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s book ‘River Cottage Everyday. The recipe was titled ‘Tupperware Chorizo and I thought if I made some meatballs, cooked them up and packed them into the freezer in meal sized serves they could be a handy standby meal. Sausages can wait for another day.  This was a delicious dish! I’m not sure if I followed the seasoning correctly as my hay fever was so bad I could barely read Celia’s recipe. They were quite spicy but not too much so. I sautéed  an onion in a little olive oil, added the meatballs and a stubby of my tomato passata, served topped with a little greek yogurt, some coriander and served with rice. Very nice. I just hope if I got the seasoning wrong I can redo it wrong again next time!

IMG_2673-001

The small shoulder of pork was a little over double the  recipe and it gave me the chance to test drive my new Ankarsrum mixer’s meat mincer. Oh my, compared to my old one this is heavenly. Whipped through the meat so quickly I was amazed. Didn’t have to cut the meat up into tiny little bits and I went straight to the small mincing disc first up. On my old one you had to start with big sized hole and progressively reduce the size of the disc.

Ankarsrum meat mincer or grinder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flipped the machine back up and all the mince along with the rest of the recipe (plus I added an egg) went into the mixing bowl to mix it all together. Next time I’ll get smart and mince the meat straight into the bowl. Loving this machine!

Ankarsrum mixer meatballs

I made some Annabel Langbein brownies for a friends birthday, so I made a double batch and have them stored away too. The recipe called for all dates and I only had a handful so substituted prunes and added the zest of an orange. Gave them a nice jaffa flavour. Didn’t get a photo but they were beautiful! It will be lovely when I can cook in MY NEW OVEN. Yes, decision made, deposit paid and I will stop stressing. Now I just need a kitchen to put it in! I won’t have to do this anymore. Yep, do what you have to to make it fit!

Baking tray bent to fit I’ll even be able to put in 2, 3, 4 or even more. Wee bit excited! Thank you to Dave at Warragul’s sensational foodie shop String & Salt. We went to a Falcon Oven demo there and were blown away.

I think my well worn toy oven (Sunbeam pizza Bake N Grill) is experiencing some oven dementia. Maybe it senses it is about to be replaced. Is there such a thing as oven karma? Does it know we’ve paid a deposit on a new one.

I made another nut loaf in the search to find a recipe that matches what I remember as a kid. Glenda at Passionfruit Garden gave me a few leads but I’m still searching. I used this recipe Date & Nut loaf and after 40 minutes it was still raw, went another 30 minutes, still wet so went another 30 minutes and it was close to cooked. I am amazed it looks as good as it does and I had to taste test it of course, quite good. Into the freezer for this too!

Nut loaf

I can honestly say when I invested the $90 or so on the toy oven 2 1/2 years ago I had no idea it would be so good or that it would cope with me churning out a couple of hefty loaves of sourdough every week.

Sunbeam pizza bake and grill oven

 

On a completely random note, while the pork shoulder was defrosting in the fridge, it somehow was dislodged from its thawing container and as I cleaned out the fridge, I couldn’t help but remember the horrible scene from the Movie Carrie. Does anyone else remember that? Still gives me the heebie jeebies!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRWHDmCJ5mo

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, In The Garden, Recipes, sourdough, tomato recipes, Tomatoes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Celia’s Pork Meatballs

  1. Tammy says:

    Haha, “oven dementia”. I love it. I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch Carrie.

    Like

  2. I’ve been SO impressed with the bread you’ve been turning out of that little oven, Maree! And I’d forgotten about that recipe, thank you for the reminder. It IS tasty, isn’t it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenda says:

    Maree, I want to see a photo of your new oven and I am about to check out your mixer post again. I love new toys. I feel sorry for your little oven but ‘shit happens’ little oven.!!!!

    Like

  4. Kim Bultman says:

    Maree, I’m laughing hysterically (manically?) over your reference to “Carrie.” I’m sure it’s playing non-stop on cable channels here as Halloween approaches. 😉 Best wishes on your garden event, and what lucky a well-fed crew!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Francesca says:

    I am amazed what your toy oven can do- breads, cakes, – amazed. I bet you are hanging for the new Falcon! Your helpers are well catered for with that tasty dish. And I can see how much you love playing with you new mixer- you could make youtube ads.
    Good luck for the big weekend, If we pop in, we will have a quick squiz around the garden and just say hello- I know you will be flat out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. EllaDee says:

    A Falcon oven would certainly shine a light at the end of the kitchen reno tunnel!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gretchen says:

    Amazing what you accomplish with your toy oven!

    Like

  8. Wonderful post, I kept clicking on the links. Amazing how some investments in kitchen toys turn out so well (very low cost/use) while other, more expensive, items languish in the top cupboard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

