My very long tomato season comes to an end.

I cannot believe that I have just picked the last of our tomatoes for the season. Yes, they have been done and dusted in the garden for about 4 months, but the plants I had growing   in the greenhouse have been still chucking the occasional fruit. I would have been happy to have extended the greenhouse crop season until late May but to have kept it going this  long is sensational. I think the variety is money-maker, but not sure. I feel a bit sad picking these last fruits and pulling the plant, but as I do so the new seedlings are starting to come through and the cycle starts again.

Money Maker tomatoes

This entry was posted in In The Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My very long tomato season comes to an end.

  1. Francesca says:

    Time to get a hot house! I’m impressed. The photo is gorgeous too.

    Like

  2. kmfinigan says:

    Oh I wish I was still harvesting mine! My tomatoes finished maybe 4 months ago, might be time for me to get some new plants started in my greenhouse! http://bit.ly/1wWebEt

    Like

  3. Glenda says:

    Maree that is amazing. You will barely have to buy any tomatoes during the year. BTW we bought our first 2 tomatoes this year yesterday for a salad.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Ate them on sourdough toast, with olive oil, garlic and black pepper this morning, yummy. Think it might be more good luck than management! I’ve planted seedlings of that variety hoping it is going to be a regular expectation to harvest through winter. I hope the ones you bought were nice and not like golf balls!

      Like

  4. Our tomatoes fruited until June and I was so thrilled with this..now in the thick of winter with pathetic store brought tomatoes in the fruit bowl (hubby is addicted to his tomato, ham, cheese & onion toasties :)) but we are nurturing the next lot of seedlings as we speak and have them sitting by the heather inside next to me to give them a chance at sprouting even though it’s cold 🙂 Jan x P.S. I’m thrilled to report I have almost a new kitchen – double sink with running water – tick, gorgeous tasmanian wood bench top that hubby handcrafted, installed – tick, cabinets installed – tick…no unwanted problems coming from it – tick, tick!!! so doors and a few shelves to go but my husband and his builder friend did so well to complete most of it in a weekend….look forward to seeing your developments. xxxx

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Hi Jan, how exciting for you! Hope you are going to post pictures, what a great effort for a weekend. You’ve piqued my interest, I’m hoping to have our bench tops made from the old timber that comes out of the demolished part of the house. Love the sounds of yours, you must be thrilled! I’m only a teeny weeny bit jealous 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

