Sledging the kitchen. Osso bucco and Asian style Chicken Soup

I couldn’t stand it any longer! After spending most of my ‘free from paid work’ Monday out in the garden, I was itching to come in and start getting rid of the stinky old cupboards in the kitchen. I’m doing this in stages, no hurry as we haven’t locked in any start date for the build. I just have to see them gone! So out came the sledge hammer, wrecking bar and normal hammer. The tiled bench top was first to go, very satisfying smashing that!

IMG_1704

Then it was a matter of methodically working through dismantling the rest of the framework. Things were built so well when this was made, the size and quantity of the nails is amazing! I was pleasantly surprised to find that behind this cabinet is some beautiful baltic panelling that is still in great nick. How could anyone cover up this with that awful cabinet?

IMG_1710

The hole in the floor is the access point to the old brick, butter cellar. I’m still working out how to integrate this into a usable asset in the new kitchen.

Butter cellar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That was very satisfying! Little by little I’ll keep chipping away!

Weekend food wrap.

On Saturday I participated in a Middle Eastern Vegetarian cooking class at Relish Mama in Cheltenham.  I thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon, chef Tony Chiodo was a great source of information, the venue is set up beautifully and it was just nice to be in a real kitchen with things like having water connected, clean floors and a real cooktop. Aaaaaah, heaven. I got a few design tips too, added bonus.

Tony Chiodo- Relish Mama

Waiting for the fun to begin!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Sunday night I made an Osso Bucco style stew. If mammoths still roamed the earth, I imagine that their shanks would be about the size of these cuts I bought at the Dandenong market. I only used 2 and it would easily have fed 6 people. Served with mash and broad beans cooked in olive oil, garlic and lemon. A bit of sourdough to mop up the juices. Can’t beat it!

Osso Bucco

Chicken and No Corn soup.

Tonight I felt like I needed an asian style soup to warm me through. I didn’t really feel like having noodles or dumplings in it, so I just went with using some of the asian style stock I made a few weeks ago using chicken feet as the base. To this I added some finely diced carrot and celery, chilli, grated ginger, black pepper, fish sauce, a bit of water to extend the volume and 3 chicken thigh fillets. The chicken fillets poached while the stock simmered away and when cooked I shredded them, stirred in some finely shredded, freshly picked kale and 2 eggs to thread through the broth. Just what I needed, not a big fan of corn in soup anyway!

Asian Chicken Soup

 

 

This entry was posted in Bread, Broad Beans, Garlic, Potatoes (Spuds), Recipes, Renovation, sourdough, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sledging the kitchen. Osso bucco and Asian style Chicken Soup

  1. Francesca says:

    That little hole in the floor on the way to a cellar could be you escape route out of prison ( sorry- I watch media report every Monday) ! I can see how satisfying that bench smashing could be- even on a day off, nice work to be had and savoured. Then I really like your Kevin Mccleod turn of phase’haven’t locked in any start date for the build’. I am enjoying the process and glad I’m not ( yet) renovating. But also like the look of your Osso Bucco too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda says:

    Maree, How could you knock out your old kitchen without a new one on its way? You are very brave.

    Like

  3. We are smashing ours this weekend….I had images of you doing a Miley Cyrus with your wrecking ball!! lol Soup sounds fantastic too….as for that butter cellar – who knew!! Cheers and good luck, Jan x

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      OMG, how hilarious! I had to google to see what you were referring to. Yep, that’s definitely me, NOT. Where are the trackie dacks, paint splattered fleecy top and extra 50 kg’s? Pictures please of your demo! Oh dear, I’m going to giggle about that all night, thanks 🙂

      Like

  4. EllaDee says:

    Winter has its redeeming features… food, food and more food. The chicken soup looks amazing but Osso Bucco style stew is one of my favourites. I’m going to try it next time with broad beans cooked in olive oil, garlic and lemon.
    Making a start on a project is always very satisfying… makes it happening more real.

    Like

  5. anne54 says:

    How do you produce such marvels in a kitchen that you are demolishing? It looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

