Seasons are Turning. GSC March

I’ve missed doing a post for a few Garden Share Collectives (GSC) recently, just can’t seem to make the deadline! Thanks to Lizzie at StrayedTable  for co-ordinating all of us home growers showcasing what is happening in our plots.

Harvests at the moment. What else? Tomatoes, tomatoes and yes tomatoes! I say that bit it has generally been a pretty average season. Also capsicum, cucumbers, grapes, zucchini and mini eggplant. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to planting full size eggplant. The ‘finger’ variety suits us well. There are a couple here left, centre.

Tomato harvestThe capsicum crop has been the best in years, yet I haven’t had much success with chillies that  are usually mounting up by now.

IMG_9815I discovered what an invasion of white cabbage moth on the capsicum growing in the greenhouse so a dose of Dipel was in order. Dipel is an organic pesticide derived from Bacillus thuringiensis. I’ve used this successfully in the past and I must admit I love seeing the little critters fall to the ground!

IMG_0116Yet again the value of using exclusion bags on crops as they mature has been proven. This shot shows tomatoes, some in the protective exclusion bag and one that didn’t have the protection. See how the birds ruined the tomato? Little buggers are even attacking green tomatoes this year!

IMG_0110I’ve started seed for kale, broccoli and brussel sprouts and cipollini onions. Hope I haven’t left it too late for the sprouts!

IMG_0124Time to gear up in preparation for the onslaught of autumn leaves that have already started to shed from our English Oak. This is a massive task. Will need to spread the 4 different compost piles I did last year and reset them ready to fill this year. This photo was taken last year and I love it. Quite look forward to seeing these pretty colours!

IMG_4643Head over to the Garden Share Collective and see what other gardeners are doing.

TheGardenShareCollective300pix1

 

This entry was posted in Broccoli, Capsicum, Compost, Cucumber, In The Garden, Sustainable Living, Tomatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seasons are Turning. GSC March

  1. Francesca says:

    Your lovely oak tree looks wonderful and the leaves add carbon to the compost, even though its a continual business gathering them. We had loads of chilli but no capsicums- not hot enough for them and our eggplants are slow too. I agree, it has not been the best year for tomatoes.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Hi Francesca, we do run the mower over them to crumble them up. It takes them forever to break down if that isn’t done. Great soil conditioner, can really see the difference where it has been added for last 2 seasons. I only use dipel in the greenhouse. It’s like the butterfly house at the zoo for perfect conditions!

      Like

  2. Jon Bundy (Herbalicious Nursery) says:

    The caterpillars are actually Crysodeiexis sp. – Looper caterpillars, I also have these, as well as tomato bud worm (Heliocoverpa sp.) .Both these are controlled by dipel, but I rarely bother due to parasitoidal wasps Lissopimpla sp. , Telonomus sp., Trichogramma sp. And my favorite ; Litomastix sp. which is a polyembryonic (many wasps multiply from one egg per caterpillar) wasp like cotesia sp. (cabbage buterfly parisitoid). I have also found eggplant borer even in my mini lebanese eggplants, which are very hard to control with dipel or even Nuclear Polyhedrous Viruses NPV’s like Gemstar. Only Trichogramma and Telenomus and an unidentified endemic wasp seem to control. I have been growing plenty of tomatillos and ground cherries which are being left alone by the nasties due to the exocarpal layer that looks like a chinese lantern flower. It is great to see a fellow Trafalgar area person sharing their garden stries. Keep up the good work!

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Oh Jon, you’re doing my head in but I love it! Always appreciate it when someone really understands the subject. Think I’ll do some research on some of those you have mentioned 🙂 Thanks.

      Like

  3. foodnstuff says:

    What to you do with the fallen caterpillars? Do you give them to the chooks? I’d worry about the Dipel effect on chooks. I don’t use Dipel. I’ve just been picking them off for the chooks and not worrying about the eaten foliage. When the butterflies have finally gone I’ll cut the plants back to the lowest leaves and they’ll sprout new leaves from the leaf axils. I’m surprised you had cabbage moths on capsicums. That’s not their usual food plant. I love oak leaves. A friend has a huge tree and brings me bagfuls every autumn. If I put them through the mulcher, they almost turn into soil.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Hi, I just leave the caterpillars, don’t want to give to the chookens. They may not be cabbage moths after ready Jon’s response. Will do some research. Plants will be cut back as they regrow well in the g/house. No luck outside though. PS, My elderflower has produced berries! Hope yours is continuing to grow well. About to do some more cuttings so I might have some back up plants if necessary. 🙂

      Like

  4. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    This looks wonderful. What a fantastic garden. Looking forward to summer here to finally get our garden going again.

    Like

  5. I swoon every time I have a look at your lovely garden and all it produces. You’re definitely my gardening hero.

    Like

Leave a Reply

