Blood Plum Tart. Bloody ripper!

I posted recently that a friend had gifted me some plums and called for some ideas for what to do with them. I got some great ideas, thanks. Well, I’ve eaten many, frozen some for making into a plum sauce and today I made a plum tart. We were off to our annual Long Table Lunch picnic with friends and it is nice to take food that can be shared by all. Today was the 10th anniversary lunch and it is a highlight of the year for me. Great people sitting on the riverbank eating, chatting and generally appreciating all we have to enjoy.

I had some pastry left over from my Australia Day Lemon Tart so that was tagged for using as the base. This pastry is the Alice Medrich’s Lemon Tart pastry recipe. Fail safe every time! Recipe for this tart is here Plum Tart Recipe

IMG_9634

Custard was made with greek yoghurt, milk, sugar, eggs and vanilla. I cut the plums up, placed them into the baked pastry base, sprinkled with almond meal and grated some lemon zest over the plums. The custard ingredients were whisked together then poured over the plums. Into the oven for 20 minutes and it set beautifully.

Plum TartAt the picnic, served with a blend of cream, greek yoghurt and lemon it was a lovely picnic desert. Look at that colour, amazing!

IMG_9661A simple platter of nibbles onto the sharing table.

Picnic platter  nibbliesWith a tummy full of yummy food it was time to take the trip up the river to inspect this years status.

Lovely as ever.

Departing the dock to check out the Latrobe river and Lake Narracan,
IMG_9664

One of the little sandy beaches of the Latrobe River

IMG_9747“Cruise in restaurant”. Managed to pick some of the best blackberries you’ll ever find. The baling bucket came in handy for something!

IMG_9676Pelican island with view to Yallourn W in the back ground.

IMG_9710The shot of the day I’ve yet to upload. As we were docking back at shore, I managed to fall into the river and have been promised a ‘great photo’ will be sent through to me. Stay tuned! I was very impressed though that I managed to keep my camera out of the water. Many years of saving beers in the surf came to the fore I think. Lovely day, lovely people, lovely food, lovely unplanned swim!

 

 

This entry was posted in Fruit, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Blood Plum Tart. Bloody ripper!

  1. Bek says:

    What a gorgeous tart. I’ve been meaning to make something very similar, and I like the idea of a yoghurt based custard. Blackberries near water are always the best, more water means fat berries and they are usually more around as access is restricted. Looks like you were well rewarded for your ingenuity.

    Like

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Sure looks like lovely food! Looking forward to that extra photo, too. 😉

    Like

  3. everything looks amazing, but that tart is special! I agree, a bloody ripper 🙂

    Like

  4. Francesca says:

    I’ve been searching high and low for blood plums this season. My trees have not born any fruit and blood plums are my favourite. This tart looks sensational.

    Like

  5. What a great tart and perfect excursion 😊

    Like

  6. That tart is gorgeous! I loved the photos too.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Farewell to My Sunbeam Toy Oven-Pizza Bake N Grill Winner! | Around The Mulberry Tree

Leave a Reply

