Peter Reinhart’s foccacia.

Go me!

I took a step outside my comfort zone and had an attempt to make a different bread other than the Chad Robertson basic sourdough loaf. I was feeling reasonably comfortable (not cocky) about managing the starter, proving and bakers percentages etc so I thought it time to branch out. I chose to try Peter Reinhart’s  foccacia. Good choice!  I’m not going to re-invent the wheel and post the recipe here, that’s in his book “Artisan Breads Everyday” along with many others bloggers posting their take on making this bread, just google it! Reinhart’s instructions cover making this over 4 days but I’m not that patient. With the heat and humidity we are experiencing I took a gamble. All I can say is if this bread is best after 4 days it must be amazing as I found it incredible in just 1 day. I made it to serve with pasta but at serving time I left the pasta and ate the bread. That says it all. The following is just a series of shots over the day as the dough progressed. Refer to the recipe if you need more explanation. I was really happy with it! 🙂

Dough out of fridge after a series of stretch and folds. Look OK.

Foccacia dough

Into the oiled pan, first dimples and oiling about to take place.

IMG_9151

1st Dimples seem to be going OK, oil is flavoured with chilli, rosemary, garlic, bay and roast capsicum juice.

IMG_9153

Second dimpling and oiling is doing just as Peter said it would. See how its filling the pan a bit more.

IMG_9156

 

Ready to start adding the topping I think. Here the chopped parsley, thyme and rosemary and a little more of the flavoured oil.

IMG_9160

Then comes the roasted capsicum and a sprinkling of sea salt flakes.

IMG_9165

Had to stop and play pick up sticks when I dropped the pasta. Excuse the floor, that’s what comes with renovations! It is actually clean!

IMG_9166

Not the best shot but this tasted amazing! HAPPY, happy, happy with how it has evolved.

IMG_9174

It’s had some time to settle since dinner, I just had another piece and it’s just getting better. Smug smile on face! 🙂 What food takes you out of your comfort zone?

This entry was posted in Baking, Bread, Garlic, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peter Reinhart’s foccacia.

  1. That looks professional! Gorgeous. I would have left out the pasta as well. Happy New Year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

