Lucky I like parsnip!

I pulled the entire parsnip crop on Sunday because I needed more space for tomatoes. I am really chuffed with the results, most are a pretty good shape and a decent size. They probably should have stayed in longer to develop some more, but, oh well…………….

IMG_6189 The oddly shaped ones will go into one of my favourite childhood foods. Carrot & parsnip mash! Just boil carrot and parsnip until mashable, drain well add salt and pepper (I like heavy on the pepper) and a good dollop of butter. Mash or give it a stick blender whizz and it’s done. The better shaped ones here will go in with the roast lamb I’m cooking from the recipe posted by Kylie over at  Town Mouse Country MouseParsnips cleanedOnly problem is that It’s hard to fit the joint and the veg into the ‘toy oven’ so I cooked the veg on the barbecue on a cast iron pot.Roast lamb Jamie OliverWorked out OK but unlike Kylie I wasn’t that thrilled with the gravy. I was having a bad day and even spilled olive oil on my keyboard while reading her recipe! Presentation is pretty ordinary too but the lamb tasted great! Our parsnips, our broccoli, our thyme and parsley in the rub.  All clean, fresh and full of flavour. This is why we do these things!Roast lambOther weekend jobs in the garden were, pulling the first of the garlic to make room for even more tomatoes. Looking great, another couple of weeks will really make it shine I think.Italian garlicThe berry house was out of control! First time I’ve been in there since the spring growth started, boy, things had gone ballistic! IMG_6173I found some baby grapes on the grape-vine. This variety is a slip grape we got from a man who used to supply Mr ATMT with winemaking grapes and it also makes a great table grape. First time its fruited so I’m a bit excited really.IMG_6175 Couldn’t see or get to the strawberries because of the growth of the raspberries. A bit of jute, a couple of bamboo stakes, some judicious trimming and its back in control in there.IMG_6178 As I was collecting the trimmings to go into the compost I realised I was about to waste a great resource-vine leaves. Fresh, organically grown and no blemishes at all. Gold! I will use these to make some dolmades and there will be enough to preserve a few as well. Glad I came to my senses before they hit the compost!IMG_6204

Not this year birdies! These blueberry plants are about 7 years old and I think we’ve picked about 10 fruit at the most. We have however been tagged as an easy target for the birds who love them. Not any more, tonight I covered several with my exclusion bags in the hope they will ripen and we will reap the rewards.IMG_6220 IMG_6236Today is remembrance day in Australia, a time to reflect and remember our soldiers from all the wartime conflicts we have sadly been involved in. The Flanders poppy is a symbol of remembrance day developing from its association with poppies flowering in the spring of 1915 on the battlefields of Belgium, France and Gallipoli, this vivid red flower has become synonymous with great loss of life in war.

I didn’t plant that variety but I did grow from Diggers seed “Poppy Ladybird” and it’s very pretty as well as fitting to watch and reflect on remembrance day.Ladybird Poppy

Lest we  forget.

This entry was posted in Blueberries, Broccoli, Flowers, Garlic, Grapes, Home, In The Garden, Raspberries, Recipes, Seed Raising & Propagation, Tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lucky I like parsnip!

  1. Interesting post. I’m curious, how will you preserve the grape leaves?

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Hi Liz, you can preserve them in brine, similar to bottled or canned ones. I’ve also read about storing them in soft drink bottles, roll them up into a tube and insert into the bottle and cap. Just keep packing until no more can fit. Sounds interesting, only problem is I don’t buy plastic bottles so I may have to scrounge some from the recycling at work! 🙂

      Like

  2. Your parsnip and carrot mash looks wonderful. What a great idea, I had almost forgotten about that version. This is one good reason to read blogs as it brings inspiration to everyday life. And you garden looks gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Look at your amazing produce xxx Looks fantastic- so very jealous. Glad you enjoyed lamb…its a great recipe. Thankfully the gravy isnt essential.Very jealous of your garden at the moment. Enjoy xxx Thanks so much for the mention xxxx

    Like

  4. Pingback: Farewell to My Sunbeam Toy Oven-Pizza Bake N Grill Winner! | Around The Mulberry Tree

Leave a Reply

