Oo, oo, oo, oooh!

A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that I didn’t think the Brussel Sprouts were going to amount to anything, but on closer inspection tonight (glass of wine in hand) I noticed these little nubs that look about the size of a pea forming on the stalk. Not having grown B/Sprouts before, I am not really sure, but I reckon they may be baby sprouts. This made me very excited, I love surprises and especially love ones that come on things I have grown from seed. What’s your verdict? Baby Sprouts or not??? Photo was taken with my phone which I discovered had gunk over the lens so its a bit fuzzy.

20140819_170445

The next lovely surprise I got was while cutting some broccoli florets, I thought I’d pull a parsnip seedling to see how/if they were progressing. I love parsnip and haven’t had a lot of success over the years, but these look like they are going to be sensational. Straight, clean, not knobbly and taste like parsnip. Happy, happy happy!

20140819_180627

Ooo, look at this daffodil!

When my sister moved she collected a load of bulbs of various varieties and I was lucky enough to score some.  Wasn’t sure what they were, just stuck them in randomly throughout the garden. This beautiful daffodil greeted us tonight and I must say it made my day! I did clean my phone camera lens after this too! Spring is definitely starting to shine through.20140819_164859

This entry was posted in Broccoli, Bulbs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oo, oo, oo, oooh!

  1. lizard100 says:

    Yes yes yes! I’ve just spotted our purple sprout buds. Be happy that’s the way they grow. Very excited here too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

