10 THINGS TO DO-when your not meant to do anything!

In the Ying & Yang of life obviously my over zealous enthusiasm for achieving so much over the school break has come back to bite me on the bum! While I was building the wicking beds I had a fall, injured my knee and wounded my shin quite badly. Didn’t stop me, couple of Panadol and I continued on. I had obviously done a bit of damage but kept going saying it will be ok in a couple of days, just a bit bruised and battered. After 3 weeks and my knee being the size of a football, not sleeping or walking well, red-hot and obviously infection in there somewhere I thought I should check it out (well everyone around me thought I should). A course of antibiotics later, tests return saying I have picked up a golden staph infection and was told to keep off it and dose up on the heavy duty ‘stuff’ I was prescribed. I’m not very good at this but took heed and was a good girl. To make it worse the weather this week was beautiful so I shut the blinds so I didn’t have to look out at it and get sidetracked. So here it is, 10 things to do while I’m not meant to do anything!

Online Shopping

What a trap! I did manage to stick to absolute essentials though. Of course I needed some more seed.

IMG_4990And it was essential I have some wasabi, cape gooseberries and fenugreek in the garden. I had actually ordered the Wasabi from the lovely people at 4SeasonsHerbs earlier, it was timely they arrived this week.

IMG_4988And I just could not ever make another loaf of bread if I didn’t have a Victorinox Bakers  knife to score the dough with. Actually, I am a little disappointed with this, maybe there is a trick to using it properly. Youtube is another thing I spent a bit of time on this week.

IMG_4999I knitted a very ugly pot holder. It does look a bit better in reality and it did use up ball of wool that was going begging. Saves me using the sleeves of my jumpers when I need to lift a pot off the camp stove.IMG_4992I uploaded a stack of books onto Ebay that have been sitting here for ages. If they don’t sell I’ll just donate them to the local charity who has an annual book fair. Probably should have done that first really.IMG_4994I got most of my tomato seeds started. I am anxiously waiting for some more that I ordered online. This year I am trying to get a big assortment of varieties and run a couple of testing beds. The ones planted here are Siberian (apparently good in the cold), Big Beef, Money Maker, Heirloom mixed, Grosse lisse, Russian Purple and Purple egg.IMG_4984I Sorted out a stack of old accounts and filing.IMG_4986I started an online music theory course in the hope that by developing my understanding of music theory, my musical journey may be assisted. No evidence of that so far, just more confused!

I’ve read 3 books, the one I am reading at the moment I’m particularly enjoying. I’t called The Apple Orchard by Susan Wiggs and throughout the story there are some recipes for dishes mentioned in the storyline. As I write this, I have mulligatawny soup simmering away in the slow cooker. I’ll report back on that! I have become a great fan of the Kindle Daily Deal that is offered through Amazon books. Books offered at $1.00-$2.00, a fraction of their normal price. I’ve picked quite a lot that I wouldn’t normally be interested in, they are ‘delivered’ to my iPad mini ready to read when I choose.  This book was one of those. Every day I get an email advising what the daily deal is and I can choose to buy it or not. Very happy so far with this system and I love using the iPad for reading.

Apple Orchard

Movies. I’ve never been a great movie watcher, don’t sit still long enough! I’ve had people drop in DVD’s, hard discs with movies and I’ve downloaded a couple. One in particular I enjoyed was ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’, nice lighthearted story and Ewan Macgregor is gorgeous! Good, wet afternoon sort of movie. Got a few more to trawl through today.

I haven’t quite resorted to sorting through old photos, that’s when i know I’m desperate! Got any tips I can use?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

