Shiitake surprise!

When we moved into the ‘new old house’ just over a year ago, I gathered my shiitake logs from the old place thinking they were past it and literally chucked them into an old metal ‘hip’ bath up the back under a loquat tree where we are storing a lot of used timer and other crap.

Shiitake bathThis morning I thought I’d measure the bath to see if would fit in a space I have behind the greenhouse where I could make a more climatically suitable home for them. I have not once watered these logs since we moved.

Boy was a delighted to see some (many) erupting mushrooms and a couple of large enough to eat shiitake appearing on the logs. Could have knocked me over with a feather!

IMG_2989The few that were large enough to eat were well received, cooked with  garlic, shallots, butter and parsley. Consequently, I have watered the logs now, hoping to get the rest before they wither.

IMG_2981Now that’s a rewarding harvest!

This entry was posted in In The Garden, Mushrooms, Shiitake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

