Not inside enough!

I seem to have not posted anything about the reno for ages, probably because we haven’t had a lot to add. With Christmas, being away for holidays, dreadful weather and a little issue of needing to sell another property to free up cash flow, has meant we have been focussed on working outside on garden and landscaping projects more than on inside jobs. The domino effect is huge inside, can’t fit skirting board back until floorboards are sanded and waxed, can’t do floorboards until majority of painting is done, can’t paint until plaster is repaired etc, and so it goes. Just have to run with what we can and make the most of it. Mr ATMT has this weekend been, filling grooves between panelling in the hall so we can cover with thick heritage style paintable Anaglypta wallpaper.

IMG_2869

Back into the kitchen – The one I don’t have!

My favourite butcher Wayne The Great had a special on Legs of Lamb the other week so I  bought 2 and knew the opportunity to decide what to do with them would arise. They came cryovacced, so there was no rush to decide. With a plentiful supply of lemons (thanks Melissa for the Eurekas!), garlic, tomatoes and parsley, I thought lamb marinated in garlic and lemon, tabouli salad and some pomme frites would make a nice dinner. I de-boned the leg of lamb,

deboned lambCut the boneless (butterflied) joint  into three and put 2 sections into the freezer for future use. The remaining section was marinated in some olive oil, 3 cloves crushed garlic and juice of 2 lemons. A few sprigs of rosemary went into dish too and that was that, ready to sit for a few hours in the fridge.

IMG_2867

I love tabouli, it is  a great way to use up a surplus of parsley and tomatoes and it has such a fresh, clean flavour  I never tire of it! I would NEVER buy this in a deli as it must be fresh to avoid that musty, almost dank off taste that comes with more than a day old parsley and mint. Added bonus that every ingredient (apart from the burgul) came from the

IMG_2875

garden. I don’t think you need to follow a recipe too closely as far as proportions of ingredients goes in a tabouli salad, but I do like a LOT of parsley. Just go with what you have to hand.

My recipe tonight was roughly:

  • 1/3 cup bulgur grain (soaked in equal quantity of boiling water)  sit in fridge till ready to assemble.
  • 2 large chopped tomatoes (if juicy strain juice off)
  • 2 cups chopped parsley
  • good handful chopped mint
  • juice of 1 or if you like tangy 2 lemons
  • good generous drizzle of olive oil (get out the good one!)

Fired up the barbecue and threw the lamb onto hotplate on medium heat, fat side down and seared for 3 minutes, turned heat down to low, turned meat, shut the lid and cooked for another 10 minutes. Turned heat off keeping lid shut to rest while I assembled the tabouli and cooked the pomme frites (fancy chips!).

I had peeled the potatoes, cut them into chunks the size I wanted, then cooked them in the microwave for about 6 minutes. Took out and shook jug so the cooked potato had a roughened surface. I then turned potatoes out onto another plate so they dried off really well ( I had actually done this step earlier).  Lit the gas ring on barbecue, placed  a pan with some olive oil on to heat, when hot enough I added the cooled potatoes and continually turned and moved around until nice and golden all over.

Plated up the tabouli, some fresh cucumber, the pomme frites, a dob of greek yoghurt and the carved lamb. So tender, I know why I don’t shop at supermarkets for fresh produce!

IMG_2887

And for dessert!

We are not dessert people. I have however put my hat in the ring to try and seek out everyone’s favourite lemon tart recipe. With this in mind I set forth to test a recipe that was recommended on my Facebook page ‘Worlds Best Lemon Tart’. The tart this week was a recipe from Alice Medrich’s book ‘Sinfully Easy Delicious Desserts‘. I will add a link to the recipe over the next few days. After a disastrous beginning with the pastry (not Alice’s fault I assure you)  got it together and as a result enjoyed a beautiful tart.

IMG_2872

IMG_2873

This entry was posted in Cucumber, Garlic, Potatoes (Spuds), Recipes, Renovation, Tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not inside enough!

  1. You’re managing to turn out some pretty impressive looking food for someone without a kitchen! Tabouli is one of my favourite salads – I keep checking on the mint in the garden to see if there’s enough to make a bowlful yet… a bit early in the year, but soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

