Bruschetta, Lemon Tart and other stuff.

I am not game enough to go outside today! This morning the temperature hit 39, with wind gusting up to 60Kmh per hour. I reckon there will be sun-dried tomatoes hanging on the bushes tonight!

In light of this, I spent today inside being slovenly and lazy which has been delightful! I read my new ABC organic gardening magazine, watched a few crappy TV shows and created a new Facebook page that I have been meaning to do for ages.

I love, and lots of my friends love lemon tart. I’m not talking about the little bits of pastry filled with lemon jam you seen in most bakeries, I mean a proper, grown up lemon tart. We do all however, have different ways of gauging our favourites. Some like really tangy, some like biscuity bases, some like textured filling and some smooth. Some you buy are just terrible. The new Facebook page  is aimed at getting everyones feedback of tarts they have made, bought and shared. I am after reviews, recipes, hints and tips and any different cultural examples of Lemon Tarts. My favourite LT recipe is one I got from the ABC a few years ago (PDF below). Please share yours. This photo is one of a small Lemon Tart we tried from The Bodalla Bakery. See my review at https://www.facebook.com/bestlemontart I have had someone suggest it is the new BLT! 

Bodalla Bakery Lemon Tart.

Lemon tart – ABC Perth (Aus

Bruschetta in a flash!

Too h0t to go out, too hot for anything much, so we were looking for a nice healthy, fresh lunch. Nothing more perfect than bruschetta! I had plenty of fresh tomatoes and basil, oodles of freshly stored garlic, (Just bang on 2kg stored in one of my garden exclusion bags).

Garlic storedbut no suitable bread. Ahhh, just remembered the turkish bread I bought from the Dandenong market a couple of weeks ago. I love this flatbread and when home from the market I had cut it into serving sizes and thrown into the freezer ready for exactly this situation. Onto the sandwich toaster with that! I had cut the tomatoes up and put into a drainer, added some chopped basil, garlic, parmesan, salt and ground pepper and a little olive oil. When the bread was nice and crispy I cut into pieces, rubbed it with garlic and dressed with some grated parmesan and a drizzle of olive oil. I often add some fetta or ricotta cheese, capers or mushroom if they are in supply. Not today though.

Toasted turkish bread

It worked really well toasting the bread like this, nice and really crisp but not too dried out. Rubbed the surface with garlic and a drizzle of olive oil, topped with the tomato, garlic, basil and olive oil hen sprinkled some parmesan over. Very nice.

Bruschetta

Sprung into action!

Not sure what my pear tree is thinking! One lonely little flower appearing. It shouldn’t be too stressed as it is well mulched, watered and is shaded from the very hot afternoon sun.  Have you got anything doing things they shouldn’t be at this time of year?

Pear flower

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in In The Garden, Recipes, Tomatoes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bruschetta, Lemon Tart and other stuff.

  1. Liz says:

    I want bruschetta and I want it now! With a lemon tart to follow. One post and two of my favourite things to eat. Yum. I shall follow your facebook page with interest.

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Please share link Liz. I’d love to get as many lemon tart ideas as possible. Not usually a dessert but love LT and want to hear what everyone has to say. Bruschetta, ah, the best with fresh tomatoes! Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

