Chook, chook, chook, chookie!

I’m very excited tonight as the local Mens Shed crew have been and installed the new  chook house. I saw a curved coop somewhere almost 3 years ago, printed a picture and couldn’t find anyone to make it for me. We cleared out a lot of  ‘stuff’ from our shed when we moved and donated it to the local Men’s Shed thinking it would get put to good use. By chance I asked if they did commission work, gave them the picture and a few weeks later they came back to me with a price and said they were very keen to do something so different.  I am really pleased with the end result and everyone of the guys said they had a great time putting it all together. They had to work out how they would build the arches, make them and then all sections were made, put together and then deconstructed for transferring here. The following photos show start to finish. I have yet to take a photo of the dropping tray made with sheet metal and set off with some stylish ‘D’ handles. Someone’s sense of humour coming out there!

IMG_0272

Righto boys, bring it in!

IMG_0275

Sections to be re-assembled. This is the rear wall with nesting boxes.

IMG_0274

Chief holder-up-er-er.

IMG_0283

Getting really excited now!

IMG_0278

Still holding!

IMG_0285

Did hear the comment “Don’t bust your pooper”

IMG_0303

Nesting boxes, perches, dropping catcher, lift up access lid. No running water or power though!

20130731_144847-2

Very happy with that!

I think the girls will really enjoy their new grand abode. I am really pleased I thought to ask the Mens Shed about this project as its been a real two-way win. It was great to see today that the ‘quite experienced in life’ members also had a couple of kids from the high school in tow. They looked equally chuffed! Thanks Boys!IMG_0331

Unfortunately I couldn’t get all deck hands to join in the photo shoot!

This entry was posted in Chickens, In The Garden, Sustainable Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chook, chook, chook, chookie!

  1. BigPond says:

    How fantastic. I’ve never seen anything like it. How grand! Lucky rene, Hilda and Mabel. They need a stove and little arm chair. M

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • fergie51 says:

      Thanks, I am so happy with it! Was great seeing it done as a bit of a project for the boys of the Mens Shed too. Dad would be chuffed I think he would have liked Mens Shed! Actually we gave them so much stuff our local MS could almost be called Stan’s Shed!

      Like

  2. Fairy says:

    Chook Mahal!! Love it!

    Like

  3. suburbandigs says:

    Wow! I’m so impressed – it looks amazing!

    Like

  4. Cam says:

    Love the little comment there about people not joining in the photo shoot, I know someone else that’s been known to cause a fuss when the camera comes out…

    Like

  5. Hi Fergie51 – Ginger Gorman here. Please get in touch with me. I’d love to include your amazing chook house in my article.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

