Yay, first wicking bed finished!

With the school term break upon us I had made a list of jobs to do over the break which included finishing the first wicking bed. I then had a brain-wave that if I completed some of the jobs on the list before hand, I would have more time available over the break to do some more ‘urgent’ works. Not sure what this says about my personality (masochist?) but with my husband in China I spent a bit of time each day after work diligently going for it!

After my marathon effort last weekend of shovelling gravel into the base of the bed, it was time to add a membrane on this gravel to ensure the soil didn’t filter down into the gravel and block the holes of the drainage pipe. After researching the difference between woven and non-woven weed mat which is recommended at this stage, I decided on using a geo-textile normally used as a drainage mat in septic tank systems and industrial drainage. Cost was a bit more, but quality better and seemed more suited to the purpose. I wasn’t going to risk using an inferior product after all this for the sake of a few dollars.

Wednesday night I laid the membrane and started filling the bed with the first layer of soil,

Thursday night I finished placing the first layer of soil which is a mix of mushroom compost and garden soil from Moe Garden Supplies. I then covered that layer with some blood and bone and then on Friday night I filled the bed with more of the soil mix. Quite pleased with my efforts really! Looks like it is ready to plant and tomorrow I will test filling with water and checking the overflow works. My one concern is that the overflow outlet is a little too high up the bed, but that can be sorted easily (if I can fix the drill!).

Image

Happy with that! Now I can settle back have a glass of wine and make a list of holiday jobs!

One of the other jobs on my list was to dig up some of the Japanese Windflower plants (anemones) and replant to the new house. I also want to make sure some of these go back to my friend who I ‘pinched’ them from many years ago. Hers have not survived but mine are going really well so it will be nice to repay her.

Image

Now if anyone can conjure up a good house re-blocker that is reasonably priced and travels to Gippsland, please pass on their contact details to me.

This entry was posted in Flowers, In The Garden, Wicking Beds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

